This page is concerned with British counties as they were before the Local Government Act (England and Wales) 1972 and the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1973. Where the present tense is used in this page, it relates to years before 1972.

Alternative names for Scottish Counties

Some Scottish counties have two names, unrelated in origin. These are listed below.

LinlithgowshireWest Lothian
HaddingtonshireEast Lothian

Also, there are many variations in spelling and style, e.g. Peebleshire/Peeblesshire, Kirkcudbrightshire/Stewartry of Kirkcudbright. The above list is not concerned with these, nor with Gaelic names; only with counties having two unrelated names.

This page is part of, which has maps of the counties of England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales.